Home / Business / CBN Prohibits 9 Banks From All Forex Transactions

CBN Prohibits 9 Banks From All Forex Transactions


The Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) has made good its threats on the violation of the extant financial regulations, as it has banned nine commercial banks from participating in all foreign exchange transactions and operations.

It was gathered that the nine indicted banks were barred for failing to remit the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC) dollar funds to the federal government’s Treasury Single Account domiciled in the CBN as directed by the presidency last year.

The nine banks comprise of three tier-one lenders and another six tier-two deposit money banks.

The suspension on the banks would remain in force until they remit all the funds to the TSA.

A CBN sources said that further disciplinary actions awaited the erring banks after remitting the funds in full to the government’s coffers.

Exclusives News also reported that President Muhammadu Buhari has been briefed on the breach by the banks, and they have all been ordered to move the monies to the treasury single account.

About Tenoverten

No.1 Nigeria's Leading Website with Informations Focusing on Technology | Music | Sports | Entertaiments And More!

Check Also

Jacob Zuma Resigns As South African President!

Jacob Zuma, the president of South Africa, has resigned after days of defying orders from …

Leave a Reply