Home / Latest Update / World Cup 2014: Argentina leave out Carlos Tevez and Erik Lamela

World Cup 2014: Argentina leave out Carlos Tevez and Erik Lamela

Eric Lamela

Tottenham attacker Erik Lamela and Juventus forward Carlos Tevez have been left out of Argentina’s 30-man provisional World Cup squad.

Lamela, 22, joined Spurs for a club record fee of £26m from Roma last summer but has suffered a series of injuries and made just 10 starts.

Coach Alejandro Sabella did not consider Tevez despite his 19 goals in Serie A this season.

There is also no place for Paris St-Germain midfielder Javier Pastore.

Manchester City defender Martin Demichelis is included after winning the Premier League title in his first season at the Etihad Stadium.

The centre-back, who played in the 2010 World Cup, has not featured for his country since a 1-1 draw at home with Bolivia in a qualifier in November 2011.

Sabella has also selected injured midfielders Fernando Gago, Augusto Fernandez and Angel Di Maria, who hope to be fit in time for the finals, which start on 12 June.

Werder Bremen’s Franco Di Santo, River Plate’s Gabriel Mercado and Fabian Rinaudo of Catania are surprise inclusions but are unlikely to make Sabella’s final 23-man squad, which will be named on 2 June.

Argentina face Iran, Bosnia-Hercegovina and Nigeria in Group F.

Goalkeepers: Sergio Romero (Sampdoria), Mariano Andujar (Catania), Agustin Orion (Boca Juniors).

Defenders: Pablo Zabaleta (Manchester City), Federico Fernandez (Napoli), Ezequiel Garay (Benfica), Marcos Rojo (Sporting Lisbon), Hugo Campagnaro (Inter Milan), Martin Demichelis (Manchester City), Jose Basanta (Monterrey), Nicolas Otamendi (Atletico Mineiro), Lisandro Lopez (Getafe), Gabriel Mercado (River Plate).

Midfielders: Javier Mascherano (Barcelona), Fernando Gago (Boca Juniors), Lucas Biglia (Lazio), Ever Banega (Newell’s Old Boys), Ricardo Alvarez (Inter Milan), Augusto Fernandez (Celta Vigo), Jose Sosa (Atletico Madrid), Angel Di Maria (Real Madrid), Maxi Rodriguez (Newell’s Old Boys), Fabian Rinaudo (Catania), Enzo Perez (Benfica).

Forwards: Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Gonzalo Higuain (Napoli), Sergio Aguero (Manchester City), Rodrigo Palacio (Inter Milan), Ezequiel Lavezzi (Paris St-Germain), Franco Di Santo (Werder Bremen).

About Japhet

Check Also

Champions League: Cristiano Ronaldo Makes History In 3-1 Win Against PSG

Cristiano Ronaldo celebrates after scoring Cristiano Ronaldo set new records on Wednesday in the UEFA …

Leave a Reply